BOULDER - For the first time in more than a decade, a Colorado Buffaloes football coach has earned Coach of the Year honors.

Buffs head coach Mike MacIntyre was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year Tuesday, for his efforts in leading CU to the greatest overall one-year improvement in Pac-12 Conference history, not to mention the school's best football season in 15 years.

In addition to Coach Mac, 16 Buffaloes players earned all Pac-12 team honors, with many named to all Pac-12 second team or honorable mentions.

Earning first team honors were outside linebacker Jimmie Gilbert and Ryan Moeller, selected as the special teams' performer.

The Buffs 2016 season has been historic. The team clinched a Pac-12 championship game berth Saturday night in Boulder, finishing the regular season with a 10-2 record. It's their first ten-win season since 2001.

2016 also marks the first time in more than a decade the team has landed in the top ten rankings.

The conference posted video congratulating Coach MacIntyre on the winning announcement.

Need proof? @coachmikemac of @runralphierun is the #Pac12FB Coach of the Year.

— Pac-12 Network (@Pac12Network) November 29, 2016

The Buffs will play in the Pac-12 Championship game Friday, Dec. 2 at Levi's Stadium in California.

2016 marks Coach MacIntyre's fourth season with the Buffs.

For more details on the Pac-12 selections, visit the CU Buffs website.