Colorado Sports Hall of Fame banquet: Not just about big names

11:45 AM, Apr 8, 2011   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

For the latest Sidebar, the President and CEO of CSHOF, Tom Lawrence, talked with Susie Wargin about the incredible amount of charities the organization has helped due to the success of not only the banquet, but also tours of INVESCO Field and their annual golf tournament. Numerous non-profits including Special Olympics Colorado, Sportswomen of Colorado, National Sports Center for the Disabled and more receive aid from CSHOF.

This year's Hall of Fame class includes longtime Denver Broncos kicker Jason Elam, Colorado Rockies outfielder Larry Walker, former University of Colorado and Denver Broncos defensive lineman Alfred Williams, former President of the Colorado Rockies Keli McGregor, legendary race car driver Bobby Unser, and Art Berglund for his contributions to USA Hockey.

Other award winners are the 2010 Athletes of the Year Colorado Rapids; College Athletes of the Year Danielle Minch and Nate Solder; High School Athletes of the Year Missy Franklin and Marco Gonzales; and the Disabled Athlete Recognition Award winner, NSCD athlete and paraolympian, Alana Nichols.

To learn more about the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame, visit

(KUSA-TV © 2011 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos