LIVE VIDEO: 9NEWS at 4:00    Watch

Colorado flood facts as of Friday

8:57 PM, Sep 20, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

KUSA - Colorado Office of Emergency Management released new statewide numbers regarding the current flood situation as of Friday morning.


The flood area currently covers a total of 1,918 square miles of the state and spans across 17 counties. The impacted counties are: Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Boulder, Clear Creek, Denver, El Paso, Fremont, Jefferson, Larimer, Logan, Morgan, Pueblo, Otero, Washington, Weld and Sedgwick.

There have been four deaths in the county of Boulder, two in El Paso and one in the county of Clear Creek.

A total of 82 people, all from Larimer County, are still missing.

More than 5,900 residents are still under mandatory evacuation. The number of flood victims staying in 12 various shelters is at 210.

In terms of affected infrastructure, the numbers are constantly rising. They are as follows: 16,101 damaged homes, 1,882 destroyed homes, damaged commercial buildings 765, destroyed commercial buildings 203, 200 miles of damaged roads and 50 damaged bridges.

This total ups to an estimated damage of $135 million to start repairs. 

The following places have been declared as major disaster counties by FEMA: Adams, Boulder, Clear Creek, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer and Weld.

The counties Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Fremont, Jefferson, Logan, Morgan, Pueblo, Washington and Weld are on FEMA's list of emergency declaration.

To volunteer or donate visit the following site:,,

(KUSA-TV © 2013 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Most Watched Videos