6 Colorado counties vote 'No' on 51st state

12:28 AM, Nov 6, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

GREELEY - At least six of 11 rural Colorado counties were voting against a symbolic effort to form a 51st state called North Colorado.

The unofficial "No" votes on Tuesday included Weld County, whose commissioners spearheaded the effort. They cited popular frustration with state leaders whom they claim neglect rural interests.

Colorado's Legislature and the U.S. Congress ultimately would have to approve any new state - something considered highly unlikely. But the movement's leaders claimed victory in attracting attention to their complaints.

Cheyenne, Kit Carson, Phillips, Washington and Yuma counties all voted in favor for the measures that directed their commissioners to explore secession.

Secession votes also took place in Elbert, Lincoln, Logan, Sedgwick and Moffat counties.

The counties that voted in favor of secession do not automatically move toward separating from Colorado.

Article IV, section 3 of the US Constitution requires approval from both the state legislature and the US Congress in order to redraw the state lines.

Approval from either body appears politically impossible at this point.

(KUSA-TV © 2013 Multimedia Holdings Corporation with The Associated Press)

Most Watched Videos