Colorado members fall in line with Speaker vote

KUSA - Each of Colorado's seven members of the US House of Representatives voted for their party's mainstream candidate during Tuesday's election for House speaker.

Right-wing Republicans staged a nearly hopeless revolt against Speaker John Boehner of Ohio, and many conservatives in Colorado had hoped to see the state's Republican members join in.

It was not to be.

Reps. Ken Buck, Mike Coffman, Doug Lamborn, and Scott Tipton all voted for Boehner during the vote on the House floor Tuesday.

Colorado's Democratic members of the House, Reps. Diana DeGette, Ed Perlmutter, and Jared Polis all voted for Nancy Pelosi, who leads the minority party.

In the meantime, former Rep. Cory Gardner took his oath of office in the US Senate, widely hailed as a symbol of the Republican wave last November which flipped control of the chamber.

(KUSA-TV © 2015 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment