Colorado primary election results

DENVER – The polls in Colorado's primary election closed at 7 p.m. The results are now being reported on the Colorado Secretary of State's election page.

Former U.S. Rep. Bob Beauprez has won the Republican primary election for Colorado governor, besting three other candidates for the chance to challenge incumbent Democratic Gov. John Hickenlooper.

During his victory speech Tuesday night, Beauprez renewed his promise to freeze "all non-essential regulations," on his first day in office.

READ: Bob Beauprez wins Colorado governor GOP primary

Weld County prosecutor Ken Buck has won the Republican primary election for Colorado's 4th Congressional District, defeating a state senator and two other Republicans.

Buck initially ran to be the Republican nominee for U.S. Senate, but switched to the congressional contest when the current Republican holding the seat, Rep. Cory Gardner, decided to run for Senate.

READ: Ken Buck wins GOP primary for Colorado's 4th District

Two-term congressman Scott Tipton has won the Republican primary election for Colorado's 3rd Congressional District, defeating tea party activist David Cox.

Colorado's 3rd District is the state's largest, encompassing most of western Colorado in a district about the size of Arkansas.

With fewer than a 5 percent margin of victory, 9NEWS political expert Frank Ciruli has projected Rep. Doug Lamborn the victor in the primary election for Colorado's 5th Congressional District.

The race with retired Air Force officer Bentley Rayburn was close for most of the night.

(KUSA-TV © 2014 Multimedia Holdings Corporation with The Associated Press)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment