VOTE: National Mascot Contest includes Clear Creek Golddiggers

7:37 AM, Mar 10, 2013   |    comments
USA Today Best Mascot Contest
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

The Clear Creek Golddiggers will represent Colorado High Schools in the regional round of the USA TODAY High School Sports National Mascot contest.

In Round one the Golddiggers beat the Alamosa Mean Moose, Brush Beetdiggers, Colorado Rocky Mountain Oysters and the Rocky Ford Meloneers in round one to advance.

They are in Region 5 for round two and will face mascots from Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas , New Mexico, Wyoming and Montana.


To vote simply click the vote button and then state.

The USA TODAY HSS staff chose 255 of the nation's most unique high school mascots - five per state (and Washington D.C.). The 51 winners advanced to the second round, where they will be divided among six regions. The regional round will begin at 11 a.m. ET Wednesday and end March 14.

The six winners then will compete from March 15-25 for the chance to be named the best high school sports mascot in America.

The national winner will receive $2,000 for its athletic department. Second place will be awarded $1,000, third ($500), fourth ($250) and fifth ($100). 

Here are the Regional winners:

Region 1: Maine: Morse Shipbuilders; Vermont: Montpelier Solons; New Hampshire: Hillsboro Deering Hillcats; New York: Somers Tuskers; Massachusetts: Ashland Clockers; Rhode Island: North Kingstown Skippers; Connecticut: Kingswood Oxford Wyverns; New Jersey: Fair Lawn Cutters.

Region 2: Pennsylvania: Northampton Konkrete Kids; Delaware: Archmere Academy Auks; Washington D.C.: Georgetown Day Mighty Hoppers; Maryland: Key Obezags; West Virginia: Musselman Applemen; Virginia: Fluvanna County Flying Flucos; North Carolina: Grimsley Whirlies; South Carolina: Travelers Rest Devildogs.

Region 3: Georgia: Gainesville Red Elephants; Florida: Key West Conchs; Alabama: Alabama School for the Deaf Silent Warriors; , Mississippi: St. Stanisiaus Rock-a-chaws; Tennessee: St. Mary's Episcopal School Turkeys; Kentucky: Somerset Briar Jumpers; Missouri: Bolivar Liberators; Arkansas: Ozark Hillbillies; Louisiana: Archbishop Chapelle Chipmunks.

Region 4: Ohio: Shenandoah Zeps; Michigan: Watersmeet Nimrods; Indiana: Northeast Dubois Fighting Jeeps; Illinois: Centralia Orphans; Iowa: Roland-Story Norsemen; Wisconsin: Rhinelander Hodags; Minnesota: Winona Winhawks; North Dakota: Kenmare Honkers; South Dakota: Mitchell Kernels.

Region 5: Nebraska: Holdrege Dusters; Kansas: Pratt Greenbacks; Oklahoma: Miami Wardogs; Texas: Nazareth Swifts; Colorado: Clear Creek Golddiggers; New Mexico: Victory Christian Centurions; Wyoming: New Castle Dogies; Montana: Chinook Sugarbeeters.

Region 6: Alaska: Tikigaq Harpooners; Arizona: Yuma Criminals; California: Coalinga Horned Toads; Hawaii: Maui Prep Pueo; Idaho: Orofino Maniacs; Nevada: Gabbs Tarantulas; Oregon: Oregon Episcopal Aardvarks; Utah: Carbon Dinos; Washington: Ridgefield Spudders.
















National round: March 15-25. The six regional winners.

The six winners then will compete from March 15-25 for the chance to be named the best high school sports mascot in America.

The school ultimately determined to have America's best high school mascot will receive $2,000 for its athletic department, while second place will be awarded $1,000.

Third place will receive $500, fourth will take $250 and fifth will be awarded $100.

Most Watched Videos