Pro Football Hall of Fame nominations include 10 with Bronco ties

ENGLEWOOD - Among the 94 modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2017, 10 have connections to the Denver Broncos.

Betcha can’t name all 10. Without, you know, help from the Internet. You can probably get nine, but no way the tenth.

Here are the first two Broncos’ nominees: Running back Terrell Davis and safety John Lynch. They were both modern-era finalists last year who made it inside the top 10 in the voting, although only five can be elected.

They both could be among the next five in line – although Davis may have to watch out for first-year nominee LaDainian Tomlinson.

Others with Bronco ties who were nominated: Rod Smith, receiver; Tom Nalen, center; Karl Mecklenburg, linebacker; Steve Atwater, safety; first-year eligible Brian Dawkins, safety; Ty Law, cornerback; Dennis Smith, safety; and Dan Reeves, coach.

No way you got Law, who played his first 10 seasons with the New England Patriots and 15th and final season with the Broncos in 2009 (he played in just seven games).

The 94 nominees will be narrowed to 25 in November and then the 15 finalists will be named in January.

Those final 15, plus senior committee finalist Kenny Easley and contributors Jerry Jones and Paul Tagliabue will be presented to 46-member Hall of Fame voting committee on the eve of Super Bowl 51 in Houston.

Lynch has been a top 15 finalist three consecutive years; Davis the past two years and Atwater last year.

Copyright 2016 KUSA


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment
More Stories