Denver, CO - For the fourteenth year in a row, 9NEWS dominated the proceedings at the Marriott Denver Tech Center Saturday night, capturing the Colorado Broadcasters Association (CBA) Metro Market Station of the Year award. KUSA received a total of 31 awards during the annual ceremony including 18 first place awards, more than any station in the storied history of the CBA. 9NEWS swept first and second place in more than half of the 23 categories in which it was eligible to enter on its way to an unprecedented 14th consecutive Station of the Year title. Drew Soicher and Susie Wargin swept the Best Sportscaster category while 9NEWS at 10 claimed top honors for Best Newscast and won the Best Station Website category.

9NEWS Vice President and News Director Patti Dennis said, "The power of the Networks of 9NEWS was on full display as we dominated nearly every category in which we entered. To sweep so many categories and to take first place in 18 of the 23 categories definitively demonstrates both the depth and breadth of our coverage and the extraordinary abilities of our staff. Their dedication to craft and devotion to our viewers and our community is why more people choose 9NEWS than any other station in Colorado."

A complete list of 9NEWS winners appears below. Each first place win is worth 5 points while each second place finish is worth 3 points. A station must score a plurality among all competing stations out of a possible 184 points (excluding the public television only categories) to win Station of the Year. 9NEWS captured the top honor with 129 points, the highest point total and widest margin of victory in the history of the Denver television CBA contest.

T01 Best Public Service Announcement

  • 1st - "Aurora Response" Robert Springer, Andy Schaeffer, Tommy Collier
  • 2nd - "It Gets Wicked Better" Kirk Montgomery, Andy Schaeffer

T02 Best Community Service Campaign

  • 1st - "Kempe Superheroes" Tommy Collier
  • 2nd - "Calm a Crying Baby" Robert Springer

T04 Best Station Promotion/Marketing Campaign

  • 1st - "Everywhere - Beat Reporters" Alycia Gleave, Jennifer Woodruff, Andy Schaeffer
  • 2nd - "Everywhere - Mornings and Weekends" Alycia Gleave, Jennifer Woodruff, Andy Schaeffer

T05 Best Station Promo

  • 1st - "Red Lights" Jennifer Woodruff
  • 2nd - "Kid ID Theft" Andy Schaeffer

T06 Best Station Graphics and/or Animation

  • 1st - "Advertising and Promotion Graphics" Tommy Collier
  • 2nd - "9NEWS in Motion" 9NEWS Staff

T07 Best Single or Series Program or News Magazine

  • 1st - "Storytellers" Kevin Torres, Kim Christiansen, Kyle Clark

T08 Best Sports Coverage or Program

  • 1st - "Missy Franklin: Reaching for Gold" Cheryl Preheim, John Kuhrt

T09 Best Documentary

  • 1st - "Eight Square Miles" Chris Vanderveen, Dave Delozier, Byron Reed, John Kuhrt, Tim Ryan

T10 Best Television Commercial for an Advertiser

  • 1st - "US Amateur 2012" John Allen
  • 2nd - "Rocky Ford Cantaloupe" Robert Springer

T11 Best Sales Campaign for an Advertiser

  • 1st - "Applejack Wine and Spirits" Robert Springer, Jennifer Woodruff
  • 2nd - "Dependable Cleaners" Robert Springer

T12 Best News Feature

  • 1st - "Pray for Trey " Kim Christiansen, Eric Kehe
  • 2nd - "Rhode to Victory" Kevin Torres, Chris Hansen

T13 Best General, Hard News or In-depth Coverage

  • 1st - "A Night in the ER" Chris Vanderveen, Chris Hansen
  • 2nd - "The Crash" Anastasiya Bolton, Ben McKee

T14 Best Breaking News Coverage Under Deadline Pressure

  • 1st - "Where's Waldo?" Brian Willie
  • 2nd - "Aurora Theater Shooting" Patti Dennis, 9NEWS Staff

T15 Best Photo Essay With No Narrative

  • 1st - "Violence to Victory" Corky Scholl
  • 2nd - "Aurora Still Stands" Kevin Sullivan

T16 Best Regularly Scheduled Newscast

  • 1st - "9NEWS at 10" Will Swope, Mark Yoder, Jerry Vancini

T19 Best Weathercaster

  • 2nd - Kathy Sabine

T20 Best Sportscaster

  • 1st - Drew Soicher
  • 2nd - Susie Wargin

T21 Best Specialty Reporter

  • 1st - Denise Plante

T26 Best Station Website

  • 1st - " Colorado's Online News Leader" Linda Kotsaftis, 9NEWS Staff

This article was originally published on March 11, 2013.

Read or Share this story: