DENVER - Former Cherry Creek High School swimmer Bonnie Brandon and Rock Canyon High School senior Wilkins Dismuke were named High School Athletes of the Year at the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame Awards event.

Brandon set several state high school records last year and now swims for the University of Arizona.

Dismuke is arguably the best high school lacrosse player in the country and will attend Johns Hopkins University in the fall.

TheColorado Sports Hall of Fame event included the induction offormer Denver Broncos Defensive Back Steve Atwater, former Colorado Avalanche Defenseman Adam Foote, former Colorado Rockies Manager Don Baylor, former Cleveland Browns Kicker Don Cockroft, former Major League Baseball player Stan Williams and Professional Golfer Steve Jones.

Denver Broncos Quarterback Peyton Manning was named Professional Athlete of the Year and was joined on stage by Olympic Gold Medalist Missy Franklin who was named Amateur Athlete of the year.

Lacey Henderson received the Disabled Athlete Recognition Award. Henderson competes in track despite the loss of her right leg to cancer as a child.

Track and Field star Shalaya Kipp of the University of Colorado won the College Female Athlete of the Year honors and Colorado State University-Pueblo Quarterback Ross Dausin won the College Male Athlete Award.