Denver, CO - In a live, Twitter-fueled social media event hosted at the Denver Press Club, the Heartland Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences announced the nominations for the 2013 Emmy awards and 9NEWS dominated the evening. 9NEWS received a record total of 105 nominations, including Station Excellence, News Excellence, Community Service and Best Morning, Daytime, Evening and Weekend Newscasts. The 105 nominations for 9NEWS are more than the combined nominations of all other local television news competitors.

9NEWS - 105
KMGH - 34
KCNC - 20
KCEC - 6

9NEWS anchors Adele Arakawa and Kyle Clark together with weekend anchor Cheryl Preheim earned three of the six nominations in the Best Anchor category while Chief Meteorologist Kathy Sabine was nominated for Best Weather Anchor. Sports anchors Susie Wargin and Aaron Matas each received nominations for Best Sports Anchor.

9Wants to Know reporter Jace Larson led the investigative team with eight nominations including Investigative Report, Investigative Series and Journalistic Enterprise. Jeremy Jojola joined Larson with a nomination in the Documentary - Topical category for the 9Wants to Know series, Failed to Death, on Colorado's broken child protective services apparatus.

9NEWS reporter Chris Vanderveen led all 9NEWS entrants with 12 total nominations. A total of 67 9NEWS and Gannett employees were named on the 105 nominations.

The 27th Annual Heartland Emmy Awards will be presented at the Seawell Grand Ballroom at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts on July 13. 9NEWS anchor Adele Arakawa will be inducted into this year's class of the Silver Circle joining previous inductees Mark Koebrich and Kim Christiansen.

A complete list of this year's regional nominees can be found at the Heartland Chapter website.

This article was originally published on May 31, 2013.

Read or Share this story: