KUSA - Four Colorado counties have been declared primary natural disaster areas due to recent drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designation includes Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata and Montezuma counties.

"Our hearts go out to those Colorado farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters," said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack in a news release. "President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation's economy by sustaining the successes of America's farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We're also telling Colorado producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood."

Farmers and ranchers in the following neighboring counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance.

  • Conejos
  • Mineral
  • San Juan
  • Hinsdale
  • Rio Grande
  • San Miguel

(KUSA-TV © 2014 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)

Read or Share this story: http://www.9news.com/story/news/local/2014/07/02/drought-disaster-areas/12092995/