Breaking News
More () »

Coloradan selected as one of NASA's 10 newest astronaut candidates

Maj. Nichole Ayers grew up in Divide and graduated from the U.S. Air Force Academy.

DIVIDE, Colo. — More than 12,000 people applied to be one of NASA's newest astronauts. Only 10 finalists got the call – including a fighter pilot from Colorado. 

U.S. Air Force Maj. Nichole Ayers is part of NASA's first new astronaut class in four years. She grew up in Divide, attended Woodland Park High School, and graduated from the U.S. Air Force Academy in 2011 with a degree in mathematics and a minor in Russian. 

Ayers earned her master's degree in computational and applied mathematics from Rice University in Houston. She graduated from pilot training in 2014 and is now an instructor pilot in the F-22 Raptor.

At the time of her selection, Ayers was the assistant director of operations in the 90th Fighter Squadron at Elmendorf Air Force Base in Alaska.

Credit: AP
NASA announces the 2021 Astronaut Candidate Class, Monday, Dec. 6, 2021, in Houston. NASA selected 10 new astronauts Monday, half of them military pilots, as it looks ahead to the moon and Mars. (Marie D. De Jesús/Houston Chronicle via AP)

NASA introduced its 10 new astronaut candidates – six men and four women –during a ceremony Monday in Houston. The group includes five combat and test pilots, a medical physicist, drilling specialist, maritime roboticist, NASA-turned-SpaceX flight surgeon and a bioengineer who was a champion cyclist.

Ayers and the other nine candidates will report to the Johnson Space Center in January. Before becoming eligible for spaceflight, they'll go through two years of training focused on maintaining the International Space Station, training for spacewalks, developing robotics skills, operating a training jet and learning Russian.

Credit: AP
This photo provided by NASA shows its 2021 astronaut candidate class, announced on Monday, Dec. 6, 2021. The 10 candidates stand for a photo at the Johnson Space Center in Houston on Dec. 3, 2021. From left are U.S. Air Force Maj. Nichole Ayers, Christopher Williams, U.S. Marine Corps Maj. (retired.) Luke Delaney, U.S. Navy Lt. Cmdr. Jessica Wittner, U.S. Air Force Lt. Col. Anil Menon, U.S. Air Force Maj. Marcos Berríos, U.S. Navy Cmdr. Jack Hathaway, Christina Birch, U.S. Navy Lt. Deniz Burnham, and Andre Douglas. (Robert Markowitz/NASA via AP)

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

RELATED: Alan Shepard's daughter to repeat astronaut's history-making flight

RELATED: Colorado scientist included in NASA's first-ever mission to redirect the path of an asteroid


Before You Leave, Check This Out