DENVER — An effort to cap the amount of money landlords can charge tenants for having a pet passed a major hurdle on Monday, receiving approval from the state House.
If signed into law, House Bill 1068 would limit pet rent to 1% of the owner’s monthly rent or $35 per month, whichever is greater, in addition to capping pet deposits to $300 on top of existing security deposits and making pet deposits refundable.
The bill would also prohibit homeowner insurance providers from denying policies based on specific dog breeds and would require law enforcement conducting evictions to give any pets present to the tenant or, if the tenant is not there, turn the pets over to a local animal shelter or rescue.
> The video above aired Feb. 7, 2023: Lawmakers set sights on banning pet deposits, pet rent
"We can prevent a lot of unnecessary suffering by families," said bill sponsor Rep. Alex Valdez, D-Denver. "It still allows for a great free market approach, but also ends the process of bifurcating the family pet into a separate cost item that, if it's $100, $125, could be the equivalent of a week's worth of groceries for a family."
More stories on Colorado politics from 9NEWS:
> Share your photos or video with 9NEWS through “Near Me” on the free 9NEWS app! DOWNLOAD APP FOR IPHONE HERE or DOWNLOAD APP FOR ANDROID HERE.
SUGGESTED VIDEOS: Politics
9NEWS+ has multiple live daily shows including 9NEWS Mornings, Next with Kyle Clark and 9NEWS+ Daily, an original streaming program. 9NEWS+ is where you can watch live breaking news, weather updates, and press conferences. You can also replay recent newscasts and find videos on demand of our top stories, local politics, investigations and Colorado specific features.
To download 9NEWS+ on Roku search for KUSA.
To download 9NEWS+ on Fire TV search for 9NEWS.