COLORADO POLITICS — Subaru is one of Colorado’s favorite car makes, but you won’t be able to get one that plugs in for a while.

Subaru is planning to release its first plug-in hybrid powertrain on its Crosstrek models “in limited quantities,” but only in the 10 states that have adopted zero-emissions vehicle requirements, Colorado dealerships are telling customers.

States with zero-emissions vehicle (ZEV) rules are California, Oregon, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts and other states in the Northeast.

The program started in California and requires automakers to provide a number of electric cars and trucks based on the company’s overall sales in that state. The goal is to get automakers to research, develop and market electric vehicles.

Read more at Colorado Politics: