Breaking News
More () »

Denver's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Denver, Colorado | 9NEWS.com

The Succeeds Prize announces winners of $150,000 for Colorado schools

Content Provided by: Colorado Succeeds
Credit: McLeod9 Creative

DENVER — Four Colorado public schools and two groups of public educators each received $15,000 from The Succeeds Prize during a celebration honoring excellence in education on Tuesday night.

The Succeeds Prize is the most prestigious awards and recognition event for Colorado teachers and schools. The awards also offer a platform for educators to share promising teaching practices that may have an impact on Colorado's nearly 900,000 students.

For photos from the event, click here. Click here to watch the event live stream.

A partnership between 9NEWS, Colorado Succeeds and mindSpark Learning, The Succeeds Prize awarded schools across six categories with a total of $150,000 in cash prizes. The winners were selected by panels of experts representing the education, government and business communities.

Colorado educators, from classroom teachers and paraprofessionals to teacher leaders and administrators, were the evening’s VIPs. In the exclusive Teachers’ Lounge, they enjoyed signature cocktails, live music and interviews with 9NEWS anchor Kim Christiansen.

Credit: McLeod9 Creative

Leaders from Colorado’s top companies, including Ball Corporation, Western Union, and DaVita, announced the winners on stage and praised Colorado educators for their dedication to Colorado’s children.

The winners of The Succeeds Prize 2018 are:

  • Transformational Impact in an Elementary School – Presented by TTEC: Paonia Elementary School
  • Transformational Impact in a Middle School – Presented by DaVita: Carbondale Middle School
  • Transformational Impact in a High School – Presented by the Western Union Foundation: Denver Center for International Studies
  • Excellence in STEM Education – Presented by Ball Corporation: Northridge Elementary School
  • Excellence in Education Innovation – Presented by Janus Henderson Investors: Colleen Owens, Green Mountain High School
  • Excellence in Technology Enabled Learning – Presented by Arrow Electronics: Sean Wybrant, William J. Palmer High School

Credit: McLeod9 Creative


The winners in each category received $15,000. The other finalists received between $2,500 and $5,000. School leaders will determine how to use the unrestricted prize money in their schools.

In addition to receiving the money, the winners will also receive customized professional training from mindSpark Learning, a non-profit dedicated to re-engineering education through unique professional learning experiences for both the school leader and teacher.

Click here to learn more about The Succeeds Prize.