Breaking News
More () »

Runoff election results: Denver City Council

Tuesday's runoff election determined the winners of city council seats in Districts 8, 9 and 10.

DENVER — In addition to electing Mike Johnston as the city's next mayor in Tuesday's runoff election, voters in three Denver City Council districts picked their next councilperson. 

In April's election, voters were tasked with choosing one councilmember for each of the city's 11 districts, and two councilmembers for at-large seats, which represent the entire city. Three of the district races went to runoffs.

Unofficial results released Wednesday show Darrell Watson winning the District 9 race over incumbent Candi CdeBaca. Incumbent Chris Hinds kept his District 10 seat over a challenge from Shannon Hoffman. 

In District 8, Shontel M. Lewis leads Brad Revare by less than 400 votes. 

The unofficial results released Wednesday do not include remaining military and overseas ballots, or ballots that need to be cured. The clerk's office said there are 1,495 ballots still to be cured. 

Final official results will be posted after they're certified on June 20. 

Council District 7

District 7 was set to go to a runoff, but one of the candidates, Nick Campion announced in April that he was withdrawing from the race, making Flor Alvidrez the next councilperson. Alvidrez led the April 4 election, with 38.5% of the vote.

Council District 8

District 8 will be represented by a new councilmember, since incumbent Christoper Herndon, who took office in 2011, was term-limited.

The final unofficial results show Shontel M. Lewis leading Brad Revare by 356 votes. 

Lewis led the April 4 election, with 35.71% of the vote. Revare was just behind, with 33.47% of the vote. 

Council District 9

Incumbent Candi CdeBaca faced Darrell Watson in the District 9 race

The final unofficial results show Watson winning the race with 61% of the vote.

Watson claimed victory in a speech Tuesday night. 

CdeBaca led the April 4 election, with 44.24% of the vote. Watson was just behind, with 42.93% of the vote. 

Council District 10

Incumbent Chris Hinds faced Shannon Hoffman in the District 10 race.

The final unofficial results show Hinds winning the race with 55% of the vote.

Hinds led the April 4 election, with 35.57% of the vote. Hoffman came in with 27.06% of the vote. 

Council At-Large

There was no runoff for the city council at-large race. The top two candidates from the April 4 election, Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez and Sarah Parady, were the winners.

SUGGESTED VIDEOS: Colorado Elections

Before You Leave, Check This Out