The College Football Playoff is set.

The 13-member committee selected Clemson as the top seed in the fourth annual College Football Playoff. The Tigers will play the No. 4 Alabama Crimson Tide on New Year's Day in the Sugar Bowl at Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans.

The No. 2 seed Oklahoma Sooners will play the No. 3 seed Georgia Bulldogs on New Year's Day in the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. It marks the first-ever matchup between Oklahoma and Georgia.

The winners of the semifinal games will meet in the College Football Playoff championship game on Jan. 8 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta.

The Tigers enter as the defending champions after crushing Miami (Florida) in the ACC title game.

The Sooners and Bulldogs both clinched their spots with respective conference championship game victories in the Big 12 and SEC.

The Crimson Tide beat out Big Ten champion Ohio State for the final spot despite not winning its SEC division. This season marks the first in which two teams from the same conference are in the College Football Playoff.

Clemson, Oklahoma and Alabama are all making repeat appearances in the field. The trio along with Ohio State have accounted for 11 of the 16 berths in the four years of the systems. This the first time Georgia has been selected.

The Ohio State Buckeyes were ranked No. 5, and the Wisconsin Badgers were ranked No. 6.

USA TODAY contributed to this story.

â–ºMake it easy to keep up-to-date with more stories like this. Download the 10 News app now.

Have a news tip? Email, or visit our Facebook page or Twitter feed.