Breaking News
More () »

Justin Simmons receives Darrent Williams Good Guy Award for 3rd time

Simmons will receive the 14th Annual Darrent Williams Good Guy Award, as selected by the team’s local media.

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Denver Broncos safety Justin Simmons will be presented with the 14th Annual Darrent Williams Good Guy Award, the Broncos announced Wednesday.

Selected by the Broncos' local media, the award is given annually to the Bronco who best exemplifies former Bronco Darrent Williams’ enthusiasm, cooperation and honesty while dealing with members of the press.

Simmons was previously awarded the honor in 2017 and 2019, making him the first three-time winner of the award.

"Humbled and honored," said Simmons on Wednesday. "Darrent Williams’ legacy is one of a kind. His impact on Denver will never be forgotten! Just following the blueprint he left."

“I congratulate Justin on this tremendous accomplishment, especially for a third time,” said Denver Broncos Ring of Famer, former teammate of Williams & the first recipient of the Darrent Williams Good Guy Award John Lynch. “Darrent certainly was everything this award represents, a guy who kept every day fun, who had a great smile, a great energy about him, a great energy about life. Some people take energy out of a building, Darrent brought it in with him, every day, and it was a pleasure just to be around Darrent every day. I remember those times all the time. We lost Darrent way too early, but this award, hopefully, helps people remember him and I know it was an honor for me as well.’’

Other players who received significant consideration for this year’s honor include guard Dalton Risner and safety Kareem Jackson, according to the Broncos.

“In what was, again, one of the widest voting margins we have had over the last 14 years, Justin has broken new ground given not only is he the first back-to-back winner since the first time we presented the award in 2007, Justin is also now the first three-time winner,” said Jeff Legwold of ESPN. “He was repeatedly singled out, in this unique season, for the consistent quality and breadth of his answers on a wide variety of topics, both on and off the field.’’

All-Time Darrent Williams Good Guy Award Winners

  • 2007 — John Lynch
  • 2008 — Ebenezer Ekuban
  • 2009 — Elvis Dumervil
  • 2010 — Mario Haggan
  • 2011 — Champ Bailey
  • 2012 — Wesley Woodyard
  • 2013 — Chris Harris Jr.
  • 2014 — Terrance Knighton
  • 2015 — Brandon Marshall
  • 2016 — DeMarcus Ware
  • 2017 — Justin Simmons
  • 2018 — Chris Harris Jr.
  • 2019 — Justin Simmons
  • 2020 — Justin Simmons

> Top stories curated daily just for you! Sign up for the 9NEWSLETTER to get can’t-miss stories, Next and Broncos content, weather and more delivered right to your inbox.

Broncos podcast: Klis' Mike Drop

Denver Broncos headlines, game previews and interviews with our 9NEWS insider Mike Klis.




Subscribe to our daily 9NEWSLETTER

Download the 9NEWS APP
iTunes: http://on9news.tv/itunes
Google Play: http://on9news.tv/1lWnC5n 


ROKU: add the channel from the ROKU store or by searching for KUSA.

For both Apple TV and Fire TV, search for "9news" to find the free app to add to your account. Another option for Fire TV is to have the app delivered directly to your Fire TV through Amazon.