Breaking News
More () »

Nathan MacKinnon named finalist for most outstanding player award

MacKinnon looks to join Joe Sakic as the second Avalanche player to receive the Ted Lindsay Award.

TORONTO, ON — Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon was one of three finalists for announced Tuesday for the 2019-20 Ted Lindsay Award (TLA).

MacKinnon joins Leon Draisaitl of the Edmonton Oilers and Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers as finalists for the award, presented annually by the National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) "to the most outstanding player in the NHL."

The three finalists received the most votes from their fellow players based on their 2019-20 regular-season campaigns.

MacKinnon, 24, is a TLA finalist for a second time, while Draisaitl and Panarin are both first-time finalists for the award. MacKinnon looks to join Joe Sakic as the second Avalanche player to receive the award.

"This award, it's a one-year thing, but I think a body of work is a little bit required to get the respect of your peers and these guys have been so dominant for so long. It's a tough league and the way these guys produce every night is special," MacKinnon said in a conference call Tuesday afternoon of his competition in Draisaitl and Panarin. 

> Above video: Coach's Challenge - The Road Ahead

The 2019-20 TLA recipient will be announced during the Conference Finals.

MacKinnon helped the Avalanche secure the second-best regular-season points percentage in the Western Conference. MacKinnon's 93 points ranked fifth in league scoring, 43 points ahead of his closest teammate. 

The goal now is to win the Stanley Cup, with Colorado resuming and finishing the season in the Edmonton "bubble" next month. 

"It's cool that the (Stanley) Cup will be awarded in Canada, it's been a long time," MacKinnon said. "Obviously I'd like to bring it home to where I'm from, but I'd like to win the Cup anywhere. I don't care what city or what country. It's really cool, but the main goal is just to win and that's it."  

Credit: AP Photo/Jeff Chiu

Formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, the TLA honors its namesake and NHLPA pioneer, Ted Lindsay.

RELATED: NHL, players approve plan to resume season, extend CBA

RELATED: Comcast, Dish customers still won't be able to watch Altitude Sports this summer



Subscribe to our daily 9NEWSLETTER

Download the 9NEWS APP
iTunes: http://on9news.tv/itunes
Google Play: http://on9news.tv/1lWnC5n 


ROKU: add the channel from the ROKU store or by searching for KUSA.

For both Apple TV and Fire TV, search for "9news" to find the free app to add to your account. Another option for Fire TV is to have the app delivered directly to your Fire TV through Amazon.

Before You Leave, Check This Out