Breaking News
More () »

Denver's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Denver, Colorado | 9NEWS.com

John Grant Jr among 4 from Mammoth elected into NLL Hall of Fame

Mammoth legend Gary Gait and head coach Pat Coyle will be joined by 4 new members in the Hall of Fame.

DENVER — The National Lacrosse League (NLL) announced Thursday that 10 new members have been elected into the NLL Hall of Fame.

Among the honorees are four with ties to the Colorado Mammoth: John Grant Jr., Shawn Williams, Steve Toll and Casey Powell.

Grant Jr., Powell and Toll each played for the Mammoth in their storied careers. Williams is the current Mammoth Offensive Coordinator.

The four inductees join Mammoth legend Gary Gait and Mammoth Head Coach Pat Coyle as former athletes in the Hall of Fame with ties to the Mammoth organization.

The NLL Hall of Fame Class of 2021 features eight former players and two referees. Celebratory ceremonies from the NLL and Mammoth are slated to take place in February 2022.

> Above video: John Grant Jr. interview in 2020.

The Class of 2021 will represent the first additions to the Hall since 2016. This fall’s induction will also celebrate the 15th anniversary of the Hall’s establishment with the inaugural members having been inducted in 2006.

Credit: Colorado Mammoth
Steve Toll

"After a long and careful process of re-engineering the NLL Hall of Fame it’s exciting to relaunch with an incredible list of nominees," said NLL Commissioner Nick Sakiewicz.

"Thank you to the Hall of Fame Committee for an incredible process and selecting ten outstanding individuals," Sakiewicz said. "We are very proud of all those nominated and welcome those chosen to be inducted as the newest members of the NLL Hall of Fame Class of 2021 presented by GAIT Lacrosse. These are the greatest of the great, and we look forward to the induction ceremony and further connecting the amazing history of the league with its exciting present and future.”

National Lacrosse League Hall of Fame Class of 2021

  • Colin Doyle
  • Kevin Finneran
  • John Grant Jr.
  • Casey Powell
  • Shawn Williams
  • Pat McCready
  • Regy Thorpe
  • Steve Toll
  • Roy Condon
  • Bill Fox 

RELATED: NLL Hall of Fame class features 3 former Mammoth greats

RELATED: Colorado Mammoth return to Ball Arena this fall

> Top stories curated daily just for you! Sign up for the 9NEWSLETTER to get can’t-miss stories, Next and Broncos content, weather and more delivered right to your inbox.

Credit: Jack Dempsey
Shawn Williams

Broncos podcast: Klis' Mike Drop

Denver Broncos headlines, game previews and interviews with our 9NEWS insider Mike Klis.


SUGGESTED VIDEOS: Locked On Podcasts


Subscribe to our daily 9NEWSLETTER

Download the 9NEWS APP
iTunes: http://on9news.tv/itunes
Google Play: http://on9news.tv/1lWnC5n 


ROKU: add the channel from the ROKU store or by searching for KUSA.

For both Apple TV and Fire TV, search for "9news" to find the free app to add to your account. Another option for Fire TV is to have the app delivered directly to your Fire TV through Amazon.