BOULDER COUNTY, Colo — The Boulder County Coroner's Office on Monday identified a motorcyclist who died in crash with two cyclists Saturday in Boulder County.
The Colorado State Patrol said they learned of the crash just after noon Saturday. The motorcyclist was going west, and the bicyclists on a tandem bike were traveling east on Lefthand Canyon Drive when the motorcyclist crossed the center line and struck the bicycle around milepost 12.
According to a CSP spokesperson, the motorcycle went off the south side of Lefthand Canyon Drive after the collision and hit a large tree branch. The driver was ejected and died on the scene.
On Monday, the coroner's office identified the motorcyclist as Brent Long, 58, of Ward.
The man and the woman on the bicycle were ejected, said the CSP spokesperson. The man suffered severe injuries and the woman suffered moderate injuries, and both were taken to the hospital. All three people involved were said to be wearing helmets, the CSP spokesperson said.
Troopers said drugs and alcohol are not suspected to be factors in the crash, but excessive speed is suspected to be a factor.
SUGGESTED VIDEOS: Latest from 9NEWS
The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) provides these tips for safe driving in Colorado:
Expect the unexpected
Be aware of emergency crews
Stay alert and minimize distractions
Keep with the traffic flow
Plan your drive
Be patient and stay calm
It is also important to be aware of emergency vehicles.
Colorado's Move Over Law requires drivers to move over a lane when there’s an emergency situation along the shoulder. If the driver can’t move over, they must slow down significantly to avoid an accident.
The law was implemented in 2005 and strengthened in 2020. A CDOT news release states: "The updated law stipulates that if a driver is unable to move at least one lane away from the stationary emergency vehicle, the driver must slow down to at least 25 miles per hour on roadways with a speed limit below 45 miles per hour. On roadways with speed limits 45 miles per hour or more, motorists must slow down to 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit. Drivers that fail to slow down or move over commit the crime of careless driving, a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense that can result in up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $300."
CDOT recommends people check COtrip.org to find out about road conditions, construction zones, and traffic alerts.
9NEWS also provides traffic updates and alerts through the 9NEWS app.