KUSA – They are eight of the many who responded to the Aurora theater shooting on July 20, 2012.

Each one considers their colleagues the true heroes of that night. Not one considers himself a hero.

Our story on their story will air Wednesday night to help honor their roles five years after one of the worst mass shootings in this country’s history.

Aurora Officers ALL_1499984566181.jpg
<p>8 of the first responding officers to the scene at the theater in Aurora, July 20, 2012.</p>

Before that story airs, however, we wanted to allow you the opportunity to hear from them in their own words.

The words and emotions are raw and unfiltered. Some will prove difficult for you to hear.

In the end, we hope it gives you a better idea of what dozens of officers went through that night.

Before now, none of these eight officers had told their stories in such a public way.

Our special story on these officers will air Wednesday, July 19 at 9 p.m. and 10 p.m.

RELATED: Telling the story of the Aurora Police Officers Inside The Theater Shooting

Officer John Gonzales

Sergeant Mike Hawkins

Officer Jon Marek

Officer Specialist Jason Oviatt

Lieutenant Stephen Redfearn

Officer James Waselkow

Sergeant Gerry Jonsgaard

Bryan Butler (retired)